Back to Top


Darren Sammy will lead the West Indies team at the ICC World Twenty20 2016 in India, the WICB selectors announced on Friday (January 29).

Sammy, 32, will lead a 15-man squad that includes Chris Gayle and Dwayne Bravo as well as Sunil Narine for the tournament which starts on March 8 and ends on April 3.

The squad includes 11 members of the championship-winning team from 2012. On that occasion West Indies beat Sri Lanka at the R Premadasa Stadium to win the title, with Sammy at the helm.

West Indies is ranked on No. 1 the ICC Twenty20 team rankings. The squad will assemble in the United Arab Emirates for a camp from February 22 to March 6. It will then travel to Kolkata on March 7 ahead of the tournament. The official warm-up matches will be on Thursday, March 10, and Sunday, March 13.

West Indies has been drawn in Group 1 of the Super 10 stage where it will play alongside England, South Africa, Sri Lanka, and one of the qualifiers from the first round.

The squad: Darren Sammy (capt), Samuel Badree, Sulieman Benn, Darren Bravo, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Fletcher, Chris Gayle, Jason Holder, Sunil Narine, Kieron Pollard, Denesh Ramdin, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Jerome Taylor.