Back to Top



ICC World Twenty20 India 2016

The 2016 ICC World Twenty20 will be the sixth ICC World Twenty20 tournament and will be held in India from March 8 to April 3. There have been five different winners of the men’s event while the England women’s team won the inaugural tournament at home in 2009 before Australia won three straight titles in the West Indies, Sri Lanka and Bangladesh in 2010, 2012 and 2014, respectively.
A total of 58 tournament matches, 35 men’s matches and 23 women’s matches, will be played in the 27-day tournament in Bengaluru, Chennai, Dharamsala, Kolkata, Mohali, Mumbai, Nagpur and New Delhi. New Delhi and Mumbai will host the semi-finals on 30 and 31 March, respectively, while Eden Gardens in Kolkata will be the venue of the 3 April finals. The women’s semi-finals and final will be followed by the men’s knock-out matches. There is a reserve day for the finals.

For the second time in a row, the tournament will feature 16 teams. All ten full members qualified automatically, and are joined by the six Associate Members that qualified through the 2015 ICC World Twenty20 Qualifier, played in Ireland and Scotland between 6 - 26 July 2015. The qualifying teams are Scotland, Ireland, the Netherlands, Afghanistan, Hong Kong and Oman. It is Oman's first ever appearance at the ICC World Twenty20.

The men’s event format will see eight sides, in two groups of four, feature in the first round matches with the group winners joining eight sides in the Super 10 stage, which will split into two groups of five. The top two sides from both the Super 10 Groups will then qualify for the semi-finals before the final at Eden Gardens.

Women's Tournament